Grateful when Life isn’t Fair

Yesterday I got to spend time with two of my good friends/old roommates.  They’re both planning their weddings right now, and it was unbelievable to listen to them, just because they are coming from such a different situation than I did when I was planning my wedding. And I know they’re both such great people – they’re really great friends of mine – but it just didn’t feel like real life talking with them, I was blown away.

They both just have huge budgets for a wedding, like three to four times what mine was. And yet there was still some complaining from one about different aspects of her wedding. And then I found out the other was just given a 2016 Subaru Outback by her parents last month.  And I had just told them about how Reeve and I just bought a used car and were thrilled…[PS our “new” car is a 2002 Ford Explorer. We got a great deal on it though, and it meets our needs. We’re honestly really happy with it!  I was excited to share that with them, until I started comparing my situation to theirs, then I was regretfully slightly embarrassed by it. Here’s a picture of the car we actually are super grateful to have. We’re excited that it’s more reliable than our last and we’ll be able to do a lot more of the fun outdoors things we like to do without worrying about getting our car stuck somewhere, etc.]0317161556.jpg

I couldn’t stop thinking about this whole situation for hours after. How life just is not fair.  I didn’t by any means think I deserved what they were getting, but I found myself thinking why are they so lucky? I was getting pretty worked up over it when I realized I needed to take a step back and be grateful for what I have! The song Count Your Many Blessings popped into my head, so I did.  Here are a few of my many blessings that helped me realize it’s actually great that life isn’t fair.

I’m grateful that I haven’t been given everything I’ve wanted, because it has taught me responsibility.  It has taught me to work for what I want and to really appreciate it [I do think my friends appreciate what they have, don’t get me wrong].

I’m grateful for a loving, supportive husband who comes from similar circumstances as I do, which makes it so we have similar priorities in life. He’s the best! We understand each other and can trust that we’re working together towards the same goal.

EKP_9981

We also both come from amazing families.  Both of our sets of parents are great examples of how to treat each other and make a marriage work.  I’m so grateful for that and know that many aren’t blessed with such ideal family situations.

I’m grateful that Reeve and I worked hard to earn the money for our car and that we were able to pay for it in cash.  We have had a goal since being married of not going into unnecessary debt.  We’ve been blessed to be able to live in his parents’ basement apartment while finishing school, which has helped us save a ton and be able to pay for all of our schooling and other expenses.

I also have the strong foundation of the gospel in my life.  I have a sure testimony of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and the prophet President Thomas S. Monson.  I know when life gets hard that everything will work out if I stay close to my Savior.

Life isn’t always fair, but if it was, I know I wouldn’t have learned many valuable lessons in my life that have made me who I am.  I’m grateful for the unfair life we live!

Leave a Reply

